Scoping Contracting Call - Jun 22, 2022

Hi all,

Good session today on Scoping Contracting. See Pad for notes here.

I have no experience with writing standards, but I can bring my decade-long experience, as a full time practitioner, embedded in the maker and commons-based peer production movement.

In 2014, I spearheaded the Open Alliance initiative in Montreal to federate open innovation space (fablabs, makerspaces, hackerspaces, …). You have access to all our documents here. This was before the DAO movement. The main idea was to mesh these highly collaborative and open environments at the economic level, to allow material and digital resources to flow between them and thus create a diverse physical platform for commons-based peer production, local, decentralized material production based on global commons. We took this initiative because we were developing an IT infrastructure that would allow this kind of network activity, the NRP-CAS.

The NRP-CAS is still a prototype built on a server/client architecture (before web3). Although the UI / UX is far from being satisfactory, under the hood of this tool you find William (Bill) McCharthy’s REA ontology. Bob, the main programmer of the NRP-CAS had work with Bill in the past. Bill became interested in Sensorica’s OVN (open value network) model and helped us implement his model. I may be biased, but Bill’s REA is the most advanced ontology that I’ve came across that does justice to properly describing economic processes in networks. Bill is also involved with ISO and brought Sensorica’s OVN model to ISO discussions. Bill visited us in Montreal two times.

Bob and Lynn (partner, also developer) went on to create Valueflows, a set of common vocabularies to describe flows of economic resources of all kinds within distributed economic ecosystems.
A few years ago, Pospi started h-REA, economic network coordination software built on a Holochain backend. It is an implementation of the ValueFlows specification.