Craftmanship Know-How

Hi there,

I’m a carpenter and computer scientist at the same time, working for > 20 years in Open Source. I currently see that much of the knowledge in craft trades - which I consider a central part of cultural heritage - will vanish over the next 2 generations.

What I head for is a suitable way of explicitely “licensing” know-how and making it public as open, just like the BSD 2 clause licence, to prevent unfriendly protagonists from monopolizing formerly openly communicated craft techniques.

Would your Open Know-How approach align in any way to this goal?

A second, very close topic is the distribution of designs for furniture, intended to be built by small craft companies (one man/woman or few employees, not necessarily industry or large series manufacturers). I’m looking for a kind of Open Furniture License, which enables people to use designs freely - however with the obligation to name the original designer and with an exclusion of any liability.

Since you state “global design, local manufacturing” in your mission statement, I assume there are already solutions to this question within your group. Am I right?

Thank you very much,
Markus

2 Likes

@max_w, @mak3r-nathan and @julianstirling I imagine you all would have a lot to offer on this!

In the meantime @MarSch , take a look at some of the ways in which OKH has been used as a schema for open projects, such as the AEF photovoltaic system project on Appropedia’s site:

Under project data, you can download the OKH manifest file (.yml), which will provide a little more context RE: how licensing is considered for projects.

Hi @MarSch!

I really feel this feeling about cultural heritage of craft. For many key crafts I think that they are on the verge of extinction, let alone two generations away.